Committee details

Standards Committee

Purpose of committee

The Standards Committee*  is responsible for promoting and maintaining high standards of conduct by Waverley Borough, Town and Parish Councillors, and overseeing the Council’s Constitution and Scheme of Delegation.


It does this by


·         overseeing the Council's Code of Conduct for Councillors and co-opted members. This is a set of rules to guide the behaviour and decisions of Councillors.


·         promoting good ethical practice.


·         investigating complaints made about Borough, Town and Parish Councillors that they may not have acted in accordance with the Code of Conduct.


·         periodically reviewing the Constitution and Scheme of Delegation, and making recommendations for amendments to the Executive and Council.


Membership of the Panel


The Standards Committee consists of 9 Waverley Councillors, appointed by Council in accordance with political proportionality regulations, and two co-opted, non-voting Town/Parish Council representatives.


In the event of a hearing being required into the investigation of an alleged breach of the Code of Conduct against a Borough, Town or Parish Councillor, a Panel of three members of the Committee will be selected. A Panel selected to consider an alleged breach of the Code by a Town or Parish Councillor will include one of the two co-opted Town/Parish representatives.


*The Standards Committee was re-designated from the Standards Panel by Council on 17 July 2018, following a review of its remit.





Contact information

Support officer: Georgina Hall. Democratic Services Officer

Postal address:
The Burys

Phone: 01483 523224